Our ten fellowships for theoretical physicists and mathematicians from Russia, Ukraine and Belarus are named after Vladimir Arnold and Lev Landau.

In the belief that the spirit of scientific curiosity crosses all borders, the London Institute has created ten fellowships for outstanding theoretical physicists and mathematicians from the countries of the former Soviet Union. All ten positions are full-time and last for three years. The Fellows work with us in our offices at the Royal Institution in London, where they are given the freedom and support to dedicate themselves full-time to research.

The five Arnold Fellowships are for theorists from Russia, Ukraine and Belarus. They are named after the Ukrainian-born mathematician Vladimir Arnold, who solved the 13th of Hilbert’s problems at the age of 19. He went on to make major contributions in geometry, topology, mechanics and singularity theory.

The five Landau Fellowships are for theorists from Russia. They are named after Lev Landau, the Russian physicist who won the Nobel prize in 1962 for his theory of superfluidity. His list of achievements includes his equations for S matrix singularities, the quantum mechanical theory of diamagnetism and the Ginzburg-Landau theory of superconductivity.